top of page

"It was a road block, but I've pushed past it."


Lauren Smith 21, student

PTSD and anxiety (diagnosed 2013)

PTSD, or Post-traumatic Stress Disorder, is common to those who experience a near-death experience, witness such an event, or go through other traumatic events such as war, rape, etc. Anxiety can be a general nervousness about everything or it can be towards particular events, depending on the person’s diagnosis.

A little more about my diagnosis:

In the summer of 2012, I was in a very serious car accident. I was passenger in a car and my side was hit directly. I suffered fractures to my neck, back, pelvis; you name it, it was fractured. I had to be rushed to emergency surgery to close a puncture in my spleen that was causing me to bleed out. I do not remember much of the accident or my 5 days spent in Shock Trauma.

That month I was supposed to be going off for my first semester in college in Pennsylvania. Even though most advised me not to go with my injuries, I wanted to go and did. The few months following the accident I did not experience many symptoms other than not liking loud noises or being in large crowds. After my first semester, I chose to come home to Maryland and finish my studies here. Shortly after I started school (in MD), I started experiencing major anxiety driving and other PTSD symptoms. I did not like other people to drive me. I was hyper-vigilant while driving and almost refused to drive in the rain (accident happened while it was raining). I developed a fear of slipping (car slid on the wet roads). I did not like to go out much and really alienated myself from my friends.

Months went by of me struggling to keep myself together while feeling the things I did on a daily basis. I, like most people, figured I could ‘beat’ it and it would work itself out at some point as long as I was strong and hung in. Luckily, my Mom saw my suffering and convinced me to see a therapist. Initially, I was embarrassed to tell anyone that I was going, but as I continued to go and continued to feel better I realized that there was nothing to be embarrassed about. I told all of my friends I was going and made it a goal of mine to tell people that I was going to therapy for PTSD. Knowing how it felt to have a mental illness and the embarrassment and shame, I wanted others who had a mental illness to feel comfortable talking about it with me. In addition, those who think they have a mental illness, but are afraid to talk to others about how they are feeling.

Getting my diagnosis came of no shock to me because I knew how I was feeling. Nothing really changed after I was diagnosed. I continued to go to therapy, which helped tremendously. I started to go out more, drive more and come to peace with what had happened to me. I still experience anxiety while others are driving as well as the day-to-day life anxieties. I go to school full-time, am raising a puppy, and figuring out my future all with my diagnosis. It was a road block, but I have pushed past it and do my best to enjoy life. Having a mental illness does not make you lesser of a person, weird or bad. You are not alone by any means and if you start talking about it, you will find people who are just like you.

Who's Behind All This?
Recommended Reading
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow #ENDTHESILENCE
  • Facebook Basic Black
bottom of page